Wenshu Monastary

Konglin Relics


Imperial Inscription for Admiration: The original horizontal scroll of “Kong Lin” was written by Emperor Kangxi in the 41st year during Kangxi period in Qing Dynasty. A vermeil royal seal “Treasure of Imperial Calligraphy by Emperor Kangxi” is in the middle. On the left it was written “Midwinter in the Year of Horse, the 41st year of the period of Kangxi”, while on the right ”Granted by the Emperor to Monks of Sichuan Wenshu Monastery”. Therefore, Whenshu Monastery is also named as ”Kong Lin Hall”.


Myanmar jade niches: Enshrined in the Buddhist niches of Daxiong Palace of the temple are two Myanmar Jade Buddhas. The one on the left was escorted back from Myanmar by the monk Selin of the Academy in April 1923. The next on the right was respectfully invited and brought back from the Great Golden Pagoda of Myanmar by monk Dengyun of the Academy in 1938. The huge glass case used to shroude the niches was originally set by the Abbot Mingzheng Zonggua In 1919. It was such a rarity that all the Chengduese thronged to watch them. At that time, the route from Shanghai to Chengdu was not an easy one, with so many twists and turns. Just to mention the journey through the Three Gorges, it took half a month to transport the statues on foot from Chongqing to Chengdu.




Gorgeous Garment by Mistress Tian: also called the Cassock Embroidered by the Imperial Concubine Tian of Zhu Youjian (Emperor Chongzhen in Ming Dynasty). On the satin, 248 Buddha images were embroidered by her. The cassock was originally preserved in West Yilong Monastery, for Concubine Tian was said to be a native there. In 1992, it was transferred to the Treasure Pavilion in Wenshu Monastery.


Sutras Written with Tongue Blood: There are four Buddhist Sutras written in blood in the temple. The Avatamsaka Sutra was written by Monk Shaoji during the period of Emperor Qianlong (1736-1795). The Saddharmapundarika Sutra was written by Monk Xianchong. The Lankavatara Sutra was written by Monk Kaiming. The other Saddharmapundarika Sutra was finished in the 27th year during the period of Emperor Daoguang by anonymity. These monks made their vows and stabbed their tongues to collect blood and spent a long time to write the scriptures on white papers.


DSC_0412.jpg


Hair-Embroidered Avalokitesvara: During the period of Emperor Jiaqing and Emperor Daoguang in Qing Dynasty (1796-1850), the daughter of Shanxi and Gansu Provincial Governor Yang Yuchun, vowed and cut her hair with a gold knife. With those hairs, she embroidered Avalokitesvara image on a 104.4 cm piece of white satin.


Fine Calligraphy “Diamond Sutra Pagoda”: In the 8th year during the period of Emperor Guangxu in Qing Dynasty, Yang Guangqi, the grandson of Yang Yuchun vowed and made the “Diamond Sutra Pagoda” to pray for the longevity of his father. The fine characters of the Diamond Sutra are in the shape of an exquisite pagoda. They were written on a 110 cm by 35.5 cm thin silk scroll. All sutra characters were arranged in the shape of a seven-storey pagoda which can be read in cycle forming a complete text. The only character “pagoda” was placed at the top, while a character of Buddha was drawn in each storey. The sutra was finished with 4 mm fine characters. The calligraphy features delicate design and exquisite craftsmanship with its fine and dense, but even and straight regular script.




Portrait of Zen Master Cidu: The first Abbot of Chengdu Wensu Monastery is Master Cidu, also called Haiyue, a monk nobleness and integrity. On one night in the 30th year of Kangxi (1691), he sat quietly and meditated, then splendid light radiated and the image of Wenshu Bodhisattva appeared in the halo. The locals admired this merit and respected Zen Master Cidu as the incarnation of Manjusri Bodhisattva. The Officials, gentry, soldiers and civilians all donated money to rebuild the temple. At the completion, the temple’s name was changed to "Wenshu Monastery", which has been used up to now.






Xuanzang’s Skull Relics:  The Xuanzang’s Skull Relics were enshrined in Chengdu Wenshu Monastery in 1965. During the Cultural Revolution, Master Kuanlin, the previous abbot of Wenshu Monastery, wrapped the relics around his waist all day to protect it. He endured all the persecution, that’s how the relics are kept intact.

语言版本:
简体中文

文殊禅院

WENSHU TEMPLE

空林文物



天题瞻榜:康熙四十一年(1720年),清圣祖玄烨所写“空林”二字横幅,中钤“康熙御笔之宝”朱文玺印一方,左书“康熙四十一年壬午年仲冬”,右书“钦赐四川文殊院僧超存”。 文殊院因此“空林”二字又名“空林堂”。


缅玉敷龛:寺内大雄宝殿的佛龛中,各供有缅甸玉佛一尊。左侧的玉佛是1923年4月,院僧性麟和尚远从缅甸请回。右侧的玉佛,是1938年院僧登云和尚从缅甸大金塔请回。当时龛前所装的巨大玻璃,为1919年,住持明正宗观设置。是当时成都罕见之物,从上海运来,颇多周折,不说过三峡,单说当时由重庆到成都,步行须半月之久。



田衣绚彩:又称田妃袈裟,是明崇祯皇帝朱由检所宠爱的田妃所绣,共248尊佛像。传说田妃为仪陇人,所以曾经收藏于仪陇西寺,1922年后转藏于文殊院宸经楼。



舌华涵宝:寺内藏有血书佛经四部,即:《华严经》,清乾隆年间(1736-1795)绍基和尚血书;《法华经》,先崇和尚血书;《楞严经》,开明和尚血书;《法华经》,道光二十七年完成,佚名。四部佛经都是由和尚们发愿,刺破自己的舌头取血,长期抄写而成。


DSC_0412.jpg


发绣披珍:清代嘉庆、道光年间(1796-1850)陕甘总督杨遇春之女,发愿拔取秀发,并以金刀割分后,在白缎上绣成水月观音像。绣像长104.4厘米,宽41.2厘米。


窣睹晖金:清光绪八年(1882),陕甘总督杨遇春曾孙杨光圻发愿为父亲祈寿而作的“金刚经塔”。这部以书写《金刚经》经文而构成的精美宝塔图,长110厘米,宽35.5厘米。作者以全文组成七级浮屠的形状,每个柱头填写“佛”字,且将一个“塔”字冠于塔顶。经文一律以4毫米大的细书缮成,楷法细密匀直,设计、制作独具匠心。




慈笃禅师画像:成都文殊院第一代方丈慈笃禅师,别号海月。德行高洁,曾于康熙三十年(1691)某夜,入火光三昧而放光动地,感得文殊菩萨现瑞。绅军民仰慕其德,乃捐资兴寺。寺成谓慈笃禅师为文殊菩萨化身,遂改信相院,名“文殊院”,沿用至今。






玄奘顶骨舍利:1965年,玄奘顶骨来到成都文殊院。文革期间,文殊院前任方丈宽霖法师为保护顶骨终日将其缠在腰间,即便遭到迫害也忍耐保护,这才使顶骨至今无损。